Uncategorized

Yoga Playlists

During my 200-hour Yoga Teacher Training, my teacher explained that music can help or hinder a practice. I can attest to the truth of this statement. There have been times while perfecting my teaching playlists that I’ve noticed that certain songs clash with the flow of the practice. Thankfully, this has usually happened while I’m trying out the playlists on my own time.

Music can affect many things. Have you ever been in a bad mood when you hear your favorite song come on the radio? It often lifts your spirits, even just a little bit. On the other hand, there have been times when I wanted to wallow in my anger or sadness, so I turned on an appropriate Enya ballad or Disturbed head-banger. Even while exercising, I wouldn’t want to listen to Josh Groban while doing squats (my grunts would mar the sound of his perfect voice), and walking to school wouldn’t have been half as fun if I didn’t have Ke$ha or Bruno Mars by my side.

I’ve taken a lot of time on these playlists and I didn’t just make one catch-all feeling. I did my best to create different types of playlists for different types of flows. Each of my classes is unique. The people may be the same, but they bring an assortment of feelings and problems each time they come. I have the responsibility to lead them through a practice that will, hopefully, bring them closer to being more mindful and strong so they can work through whatever life throws at them.

And finally, music helps me as a teacher because I have my own issues. There are days where I can’t be the sweet, calm, funny teacher that I try to be. Sometimes, I’m sleepy, annoyed, hungry, or just plain done with whatever crap is going on in my life. I’ve made these playlists for students and teachers alike, so no matter what part you’re playing at the time, you can enjoy the flow.

Listed below my three favorite playlists. Comment below if you want more. I’ve constructed them where they start with more mellow and chill music in the beginning as you warm up and the energy builds as you progress. Each has a fall of energy towards the end so you can cool down and prepare for meditation and savasana. There might be songs you don’t like listed, and that’s fine. Just replace them with songs you do like. These are just a foundation for your own practice and you can edit or expand as you wish. Enjoy.

Namaste.

Life Playlist-Higher Energy

Bated Breath by Tinashe

You Have Stolen My Heart by Dashboard Confessional

Nothing but a Heartbeat by Say Lou Lou

Hurricane by Lifehouse

Dog Days Are Oer by Florence + The Machine

St. Patrick by PVRIS

Roar by Katy Perry

Geronimo by Shepard

Elastic Heart by Sia

Somebody Loves You by Betty Who

Duele el Amor by Tony Dize

Fight Song by Rachel Platten

You’re the Hero (Impossible) by Bethany Dillon

Sin Ti No Puede Estar Tan Mal by Ximena Sariñana

Gracias a La Vida (Cover) by Daniela Andrade

Chill Playlist-Lower Energy (good for a deep stretch)

Take Me Somewhere Nice by Mogwai

The Moon Song (Cover) by Daniela Andrade

England Skies by Shake Shake Go

The Chase by SOHN

Hoppípolla by Sigur Rós

Daughter (Cover) by Daniela Andrade

Your New Beloved by Lovelife

Armadura by Francisca Valenzuela

A Man Who Fell in Love With an Island by Okkah

I Don’t Want to Let You Down by Sharon Van Etten

Not About Angels by Birdy

The Knife (Cover) by Daniela Andrade

Fly by Night (Cover) by The Glitch Mob

We Might Be Dead Tomorrow by Soko

Fairground by Joby Talbot

Energy Playlist-High Energy (good for Power Yoga)

The Blower’s Daughter by Damien Rice

The Knife (Cover) by Daniela Andrade

Dare You To Move by Switchfoot

Nothing but a Heartbeat by Say Lou Lou

Stay the Night ft. Hayley Williams by Zedd

Acapella by Karmin

Gimmie Sympathy by Metric

Come and Get It (Razihel Remix) by Krewella

Make it Bun Dem by Skrillex

My Heart feat EH!DE (Dubstep Remix) by Different Heaven

I Need Your Love by Shaggy

Lips by Marian Hill

Vienna by The Fray

Leave a Reply

