Lifestyle

How to Choose New Year’s Resolutions You’ll Actually Achieve

I’ve got a new blog! Well, same blog, different platform. All of my old stuff is still here, but the blog on which they were originally published as been deleted. I decided that I wanted to take my blogging more seriously and to make it easier for me and my readers to navigate.

I spent the last few weeks relaxing, chillaxing, and spending time with family. I had the wonderful opportunity to visit my in-laws in San Antonio, Texas. We enjoyed a balmy 80° Christmas. Most people were wearing shorts and t-shirts. I then returned to a snowy and brisk Utah to enjoy the rest of my vacation. I turned 25 (quarter-life crisis is currently loading) and bought a tea kettle like a real adult.

While I did enjoy getting presents (including a wand and the illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone), I mostly enjoyed my family. I loved sitting around and chatting with my inlaws and getting to know them. I’ve seen the love they have for each other and the closeness they share. I hope to continue to grow in my relationship with them.

With this new year, I’ve made some goals. Yes, some people don’t believe in “resolutions” or “goals” for the new year, but I think it’s a good time to think about things you want to accomplish. I think like this is the perfect time of year to jump into new things and to reboot.

I have just a few goals this year (I think it’s good to set less than 5 because otherwise, it’s overwhelming) some of which I will keep to myself, but one of them is to finally write one novel. My goal is to, by Christmas of this year, have my first draft finished and prepared for some self-edits. I’m not sure which book it will be, but one will be done.

I think many people have problems with New Year’s resolutions/goals because it feels forced, or it feels like you’re never going to achieve them anyway. Most likely you’ve tried several years in a row to achieve something, only to quit after the first month or week. I think the biggest problem with resolutions is that we make things based on what we think we should achieve. We think we should eat better, we think we should exercise, we think we should read more. Why do we think these things? Because other people have told us that is what we should do.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m very much in favor of making a goal to be healthier for a more positive life and I’m all for improving oneself. However, your goals should reflect what matters to you.

New Year’s resolutions are not about keeping up with the Joneses. It’s about improving your own life.

You shouldn’t be making goals to impress other people (if they happen to impress other people, then that’s a bonus), they should be about what you want to accomplish.

How do you find out what you want to do? Ask yourself these three questions:

  1. What have I been wanting to do for years, but haven’t made the time to do? Whether you’ve always wanted to learn how to play the violin, or how to get a perfect game at bowling, choose something that you haven’t made the time for.
  2. What kind of impact do I want to make in the world? Whether you want to write the great American novel, join the peace corps, or be the thumb wrestling champion of the world, what do you want to leave behind?
  3. What do I regret not doing? Maybe you want to spend more time with your family or maybe you want to ask for that promotion. Make a goal to change a behavior or to step out of a comfort zone. You can do it. Try to live life with no regrets.

If going to the gym every day is just not your jam, then don’t waste the money or the time. Find something that you actually want to do. Do you want to learn how to paint? Take that money that you were going to spend at the gym and invest it in an art class. You could ride your bike or walk to the class if you feel like you should do something active as well. Make this year about making a difference, about love for yourself, and not worrying about what others may think of you.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your break and that your new year is filled with achievements and peace.

Namaste.

 

One thought on “How to Choose New Year’s Resolutions You’ll Actually Achieve

Leave a Reply

