Lifestyle · Minimalism

Decluttering Who You Think You Should Be

pexels-photo-57812

For those who have been following me, you know that I’ve been following the KonMari Method for organizing and discarding my belongings. Something I’ve noticed is that it’s hard to get rid of things that I bought because I was trying to be somebody else.

Like most of us, my teenage years were a developmental time. However, because I was severely bullied, I spent a lot of time and money trying to fit into some sort of clique. Now as an adult, I still struggle with that desire to be accepted, but I am much more self-aware and I’m starting not to care how people perceive me.

There were many personas I tried on during my teenage and younger adult life. A quirky drama kid, preppy smart kid, goth, tom-boy, all these things I did I enjoyed to a point, but it wasn’t fully me. I was limiting myself to one description. I was trying to find a character or a part of myself that would be liked by others. However, either other people found out that I wasn’t who they thought I was, or I would become depressed and eventually fade from the group.

That’s not to say that I lied about my name or identity, I would simply try to show interest in things that other people liked and in a way, morph into what they wanted me to be. Whether it be friends or boyfriends or close acquaintances, I did what I had to do to be accepted. I never committed any crimes for them or directly hurt anyone, I just lost myself.

Slowly, I’m uncovering who I am. I’m exploring the different facets of my personality that I hid for fear of rejection. I’ve promised myself, that I will no longer compromise who I am to please someone else.

I hope that as you go through your life, or your stuff if you’re decluttering, you find who you actually want to be, and start the journey to making yourself happy again.

Thank you for visiting me today.

Namaste.

3 thoughts on “Decluttering Who You Think You Should Be

  1. I think so often when people buy stuff they don’t need its because they’re trying to be a version of themselves that they really aren’t…. then that stuff just becomes junk. The number of people I know who have tons of workout equipment but hate exercising indoors, or who have boxes worth of craft supplies laying around when they haven’t touched them in years and are keeping because they might want to get into that again one day…. I don’t know I think people struggle with saying ‘you know what, that’s not me, as much as I might like it to be’.

    Like

    1. I agree with you, people do struggle with admitting when things just aren’t for them. I also think people just want to be accepted. Even if you say you don’t want to, you’re still trying a little bit. If nothing else, this teaches us to accept everyone for who they are πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Little Dragon,
    there may exist one continuous and unbroken hyper-surface surface upon which we all exist, with, and as, the world or as an expression of it, iterative, reflexive, recursive… culture and world on a spectrum through to self and subjectivity, self-identity… the need to “be someone” to self-identify, to find those solid and certain boundaries of self upon which to stake the normative and culturally mediated experience of life and existence… the majority of our collective and individual sorrows seem to stem from a fundamental misunderstanding of the nature of who we are, the constantly forced meaning-making, aggregating, self-gravitating ego-mind which is only really something always already for someone else, for other people… original mind pre-empts this rationalising consciousness and represents problematic facts for commercial, competitive, aggressive cultural norms and celebrated archetypes of personality. We are that thing before the identification and label.
    “Mushin” is a just a word.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

