Lifestyle · YOGA/MEDITATION

Don’t Apologise When Going Into Child’s Pose

Child's Pose, Balasana, Yoga
Child’s Pose, Balasana, Yoga

Whenever I teach a yoga class, I always remind my students that they can, and should, go into Child’s Pose or another restful posture if ever they feel like the practice is too intense for them and they need a moment of reprieve. In spite of my urging, students will still approach me after class and apologize for having to take a break. 

 

Stop that.

 

 

Because our bodies carry us throughout our lives and endure many different things, they change from day to day. Not only that, injuries, exhaustion, and mental clarity all affect your physical abilities. Today you might be able to stick a handstand, tomorrow you might fall right on your face because your elbow gives out.

Quite frankly, no matter what your excuse is, (“I didn’t get much sleep last night”, “I haven’t been in a while”, “I injured my ankle”) if you need to take a Child’s Pose, TAKE A CHILD’S POSE. You should never be ashamed for taking care of yourself. Besides, you are here at this studio for YOU, not for me. I’m simply here to guide you through a practice and, no matter how hard I try, I cannot cater my teaching to every single student. I do my best to address all concerns, talk through the different levels of the pose so you can find the right fit for you, and spot or support whenever necessary, but you have to listen to your body. I can’t do that for you.

On another note, don’t compare yourself to other people. Their journey is different than yours. Just because you have to relax during the twentieth Downward Dog doesn’t mean that you are any less than they are. It only signifies that you respect your body.

Please, don’t be afraid to say no. Don’t be afraid to choose something else to do. Don’t let your pride get in the way of your health.

Instead, focus on how you’re feeling, how you can take care of yourself, and how you can love your body just a little bit better today.

I hope you enjoyed this post and I hope you’re having a wonderful week.

Namaste.

 

10 thoughts on “Don’t Apologise When Going Into Child’s Pose

    1. I absolutely agree! I do home yoga videos on youtube which I love because it helps me to stop judging myself. I love that yoga isn’t about “winning” or getting ripped or whatever – it’s about being the best version of yourself, which you already are purely by showing up. Thanks for sharing this!

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I would absolutely be interested! I’ve been watching Yoga With Adriene for the past few months but I’d be interested to check out some other people for comparison. There’s so much out there on YouTube that it’s hard to sort through everything. Your guidance would absolutely be appreciated!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. i do yoga at home, and still always felt guilty to do the child’s pose. it seemed like i was weak and a cheater.

    so thank you so much for this article, it will help to forgive myself, and to love myself. which is the sole purpose of doing yoga. and maybe i’ll practice it more! (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

